Close search results
Video GameDemon's Souls (Series) Review
Play YouTube video

Posted: 2 years ago, last updated 2 weeks ago.

Author: @GeekDadGamer and Jo Robertson.


Demons Souls is first a series of fighting and exploration games recently re-released on PlayStation 5. From third-person perspective you navigate interconnected locations while fighting enemies with weapons and magic. Larger boss enemy encounters progress the story. The games are known for their difficulty and intentional frustration of the player.

They are set in a dark, medieval setting in a ruined kingdom. Enemies are knights, dragons, phantoms, and demons. You choose a class from knights, barbarians, thieves, and mages, each with its own starting equipment and abilities. As you progress you develop this and gain new weapons.

Central to the games is that you have to die to learn how to react in the hostile environments. Players have to have the will and belligerence to repeatedly face the same foes, to learn from mistakes. When you die you are teleported back to a bonfire where you last rested, which can mean considerable progress is lost.

The game also challenges the player to endure in battle. Long fights require attacks, blocking, or dodging that consume stamina. You must carefully manage this while also working to defeat your current foe.
  • Demon's Souls (2009) on PlayStation 3
  • Dark Souls (2010) on PlayStation 3, Xbox 360
  • Dark Souls II (2014) on PlayStation 3, Xbox 360, PlayStation 4, Xbox One, PC
  • Dark Souls III (2016) on PlayStation 4, Xbox One, PC
  • Dark Souls: Remastered (2018) on PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Switch, PC
  • Demon's Souls (2020) remastered for PlayStation 5

Other games from the develop shared a similar approach to difficulty, perseverance and skill required:
  • Bloodborne (2015) on PlayStation 4
  • Shadows Die Twice (2010) on Xbox One, PlayStation 4 and PC
  • Elden Ring (Upcoming) on PlayStation 4, Xbox One and PC

DetailsGame Details

Release Date: 04/10/2011

Platforms: PS3 and PS5

Content Rating: PEGI 16

Players: 1 (6 online)

Genres: Action, Adventure and Narrative

Accessibility: 8 features

Developer: From Software PR (@FromSoftware_PR)




Play Time: This game will take between 50 hours and 100 hours to complete. Time is for the first Demon's Souls, but all these games can take 100's of hours. Many never finish them because of the skill and patience required.

Play StylePlay Style

You can play this by yourself or as a 6-player online game. Although a single-player game, you can briefly see the actions of others as ghosts. Players can leave messages on the ground for each other to help or hinder. You can also summon up to 6 other players to play co-operatively for a while using special summoning signs.

You can play this game in the following styles:

Age RatingsAge Ratings

Content Rating

Like the other games, Demon's Souls is rated PEGI 16 due to frequent moderate violence. The game features the use of a variety of medieval type weaponry that are used to kill the enemy characters. In use, the sword will deliver a killing blow in one or two strikes. Each strike will result in a splash of blood; the use of firebombs are prevalent throughout the game and when they explode they will emit a large plume of fire. Although the characters can be enveloped by the fire none suffer any visible damage from it. The game features online playing capability which may involve real-time interaction with other players.
Users Interact: The game enables players to interact and communicate with each other, so may expose players to language usually associated with older rated games.

Account Rating

You need PlayStation Plus to play online with PlayStation 3.
You need be 18-years-old to subscribe to PlayStation Plus for online play, but can create sub-accounts for younger players of 7-years or older to play online with PlayStation 5.


Demon's Souls usually costs £69.99 to £89.99.

Demon's Souls

Demon's Souls Digital Deluxe Edition

PlayStation Store PS5 £89.99
Does not offer in-game purchases, 'loot boxes' or 'battle/season passes'.  

You need to purchase a PlayStation Plus subscription to play online with PlayStation 5.


Our Demon's Souls Accessibility Report documents 8 accessibility features:
Although you can save progress without checkpoints, when you die you go back to the start of the level and have to retrace your steps.

Diversity and InclusionDiversity and Inclusion

We haven't documented diversity and inclusion information for this game yet.

Taming Gaming Book Written by parents for parents, the database complements the in-depth discussion about video game addiction, violence, spending and online safety in the Taming Gaming book. We are an editorially independent, free resource without adverts that is supported by partnerships.

Subscribe to our free newsletter

Carina Initiatives
Contact Us