Close search results
Video GameDestiny 2 (Series) Review
Play YouTube video

Posted: 2 years ago, last updated 2 weeks ago.

Author: @GeekDadGamer and Jo Robertson.


Destiny is a shooting game set in space. You have to play online as it focuses on grand sci-fi adventures with other players. From the same developer, it takes Halo towards a bigger online role-play experience.

It's set in a science-fiction world shared with other players. You play the role of a Guardian of Earth's last safe city, tasked with reviving a celestial being called the Traveler. Along the way, you develop your character and earn equipment and costumes by completing missions. These have you either working with other players to take on large enemies or battling other players. These move the narrative forwards as well as your abilities.

DetailsGame Details

Release Date: 09/09/2014

Price: Free

Platforms: PC, PS4, Stadia and Xbox One

Content Rating: PEGI 16

Skill Rating: 12+ year-olds

Players: 1 (16 online)

Genres: Adventure, Shooting (Action, Fighting, Narrative, Open World and Role-Play)

Accessibility: 16 features

Developer: Bungie (@Bungie)




Play Time: This game will take between 12 hours and 19 hours to complete. In addition to this time on the main story elements, the expansions and other activities can make this a game that takes 100's of hours. Some players have reported putting in over 500 hours to complete everything.

Play StylePlay Style

You can play this by yourself or as a 16-player online game. In addition to normal story missions that are taken up with up to 16 other players, there are short three-player battles and six-player raids. There are also traditional deathmatch games where you battle to be the last player standing.

Cross-Platform: You can't play with people on a different system to the one you are on. But the Cross-Save feature enables you to move from PlayStation to Xbox and retain your progress.

You can play this game in the following styles:

Age RatingsAge Ratings

Content Rating

Destiny 2: New Light is Rated PEGI 16 for Violence. This game contains depictions of realistic-looking violence towards human-like characters and sustained depictions of injury/death towards humans. The majority of the violence consists of humans attacking various alien species, however, it is possible to attack other human characters, specifically during multiplayer matches where human players attack one another either individually or in teams. Characters react to the violence in a realistic manner, they make pained noises when injured, and when they have been defeated their bodies remain on the floor for a short time before they respawn.
Users Interact: The game enables players to interact and communicate with each other, so may expose players to language usually associated with older rated games.

Rated for younger players in the US. Destiny 2: New Light is Rated ESRB TEEN for Blood, Language and Violence. Players travel across futuristic landscapes and planets to battle a horde of alien creatures. Players use pistols, machine guns, rocket launchers, and various elemental weapons (e.g., flame sword, lightning staff) to kill enemies. Battles are frenetic and are accompanied by realistic gunfire and large explosions. Cutscenes sometimes depict dramatic spaceship battles and characters getting shot, electrocuted, and strangled. Splashes of red blood occasionally appear on the screen when players are injured, and some creatures emit splashes of black liquid when killed. The word “a*shole” is heard in the dialogue.

Skill Rating

12+ year-olds usually have the required skill to enjoy this game. Still, it's important for parents and guardians to consider the maturity required to process the game content.

Account Rating

  • You need be 18-years-old to to subscribe to Xbox Live Gold for online play, but can then configure family accounts for younger players to play online with Xbox One.
  • You need be 18-years-old to subscribe to PlayStation Plus for online play, but can create sub-accounts for younger players of 7-years or older to play online with PlayStation 4.


Destiny 2 usually costs £0 to £69.99. 

Destiny 2

XBox Store Xbox One Free
Stadia Free
PlayStation Store PS4 Free
Steam Store PC Free

Destiny 2: Beyond Light Deluxe Edition

PlayStation Store PS4 £59.99

Destiny 2: Legendary Edition

PlayStation Store PS4 £69.99

Destiny 2: The Witch Queen

PlayStation Store PS4 £34.99

Destiny 2: The Witch Queen Deluxe Edition

PlayStation Store PS4 £69.99
This game is free to play, but there are other costs associated with this game:
  • In-Game Purchases: Additional in-game purchases are offered for items that enhance the experience.
  • In-Game Pass: Purchase a season/battle pass to gain access to limited in-game purchases, reward items and other aspects of the game.
  • You need a subscription to play online:
    • You need to purchase a PlayStation Plus subscription to play online with PlayStation 4.
    • You need to purchase a Xbox Live Gold subscription to play online with Xbox One.
The following content is available for Destiny via in-game purchase and season pass:
  • Destiny: The Dark Below (2014) Expansion I
  • Destiny: House of Wolves (2015) Expansion II
  • Destiny: The Taken King (2015) new content also includes Expansion I and Expansion II.
  • Destiny: Rise of Iron (2015)
  • Destiny 2: Curse of Osiris (2017) post-release paid content
  • Destiny 2: Warmind (2018) Expansion
  • Destiny 2: Forsaken (2018) Expansion
  • Destiny 2: Shadowkeep (2019) Expansion
  • Destiny 2: Season of the Forge (2018) via Annual Pass
  • Destiny 2: Season of the Drifter (2018) via Annual Pass
  • Destiny 2: Season of Opulence (2019) via Annual Pass
  • Destiny 2: Season of the Worthy (2020) via Annual Pass

Much of this content is bundled in the following purchases of the main game:
  • Destiny: The Collection includes all the content from the first game.
  • Destiny 2: Upgrade Edition includes Forsaken and Shadowkeep as well as the current season pass.
  • Destiny: New Light provides a free-to-play option that grants access to a huge amount of content but doesn't include the latest adventures. 
It's important to set up your accounts and devices appropriately. More information is on our Financial Resources page.


Our Destiny 2 Accessibility Report documents 16 accessibility features:
You can increase the time you have to double-press a button that is sometimes required to access a weapon function. You can also map "chord" presses of two buttons to a single action.

There are options to switch between holds and toggles for aim-zoom, sprint and crouch but not in all cases. Weapon firing, class jump ability, charging grenades, and drawing a bow still require a hold.

Diversity and InclusionDiversity and Inclusion

We haven't documented diversity and inclusion information for this game yet.

Taming Gaming Book Written by parents for parents, the database complements the in-depth discussion about video game addiction, violence, spending and online safety in the Taming Gaming book. We are an editorially independent, free resource without adverts that is supported by partnerships.

Subscribe to our free newsletter

Carina Initiatives
Contact Us