Close search results
Video GameDisney Infinity (Series) Review
Play YouTube video

Posted: 2 years ago, last updated 2 weeks ago.

Author: @GeekDadGamer and Jo Robertson.


Disney Infinity is an action game with themed adventures around iconic Disney, Pixar, Marvel and Star Wars characters. Players unlock content in the game with physical figurines and PlaySet pieces placed onto a Base peripheral plugged into the console or PC. It offers well designed and really entertaining versions of all manner of popular franchises.

Like Skylanders, Lego Dimensions and Starlink, this game isn't being developed further. But can still be played and the figures can be found very cheaply second hand. You can still play the game, and create your own experiences in the Toy Box creator mode, but you can't go online or share your creations.

The game was released in waves over three years. Disney Infinity 1.0:
  • Pirates of the Caribbean
  • Monsters University
  • The Incredibles
  • Cars
  • The Lone Ranger
  • Toy Story in Space

Wave 2 was Disney Infinity 2.0:
  • The Avengers
  • Spider-Man
  • Guardians of the Galaxy

Wave 3 was Disney Infinity 3.0:
  • Star Wars: Twilight of the Republic
  • Star Wars: Rise Against the Empire
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens
  • Inside Out
  • Finding Dory
  • Marvel Battlegrounds

DetailsGame Details

Release Date: 18/08/2013

Platforms: PC, PS3, PS4, Wii, Wii U, Xbox 360 and Xbox One

Content Rating: PEGI 7

Skill Rating: 8+ year-olds

Players: 1-2

Genres: Action, Adventure, Creative, Fighting, Open World and Platform

Developer: Avalanche Sweden (@AvalancheSweden)




Play Time: This game will take between 5 hours and 6 hours to complete. It takes about 6 hours to finish one of the PlaySets you get in the Start Packs. Additional PlaySets (found cheaply second hand) will extend this substantially. Also, the game creator Toy Box mode adds many hours of creativity.

Play StylePlay Style

You can play with 1 to 2 players in the same room, but you can’t play it online. Split-screen competitive play in the main.

You can play this game in the following styles:

Age RatingsAge Ratings

Content Rating

Like all the content, Disney Infinity 3.0 The Force Awakens was rated PEGI 7. Here is was due to frequent non-realistic violence towards fantasy (robotic) characters and human like characters in a child-friendly setting. Although this playset is combat orientated, combatants will not show any apparent harm or injury after being hit. Combat is often centered around lightsaber battles and shooting laser blasters at enemies. The action is frenetic as battles will often feature explosions, laser beams and slow motion effects. The game also contains sequences of vehicular combat where players will pilot a spacecraft to shoot down enemy spaceships.

Skill Rating

8+ year-olds usually have the required skill to enjoy this game.


Disney Infinity usually costs £17.98 to £24.99.

Disney Infinity 1.0: Gold Edition

Steam Store PC £23.79

Disney Infinity 2.0: Gold Edition

Steam Store PC £23.79

Disney Infinity 2.0: Play Without Limits

Switch Store Wii U £17.98

Disney Infinity 3.0: Gold Edition

Steam Store PC £23.79

Disney Infinity 3.0: Play Without Limits

XBox Store Xbox One £23.99
Switch Store Wii U £24.99
Additional in-game purchases are offered for items that enhance the experience. Image 161 The game grants access to content and character by incentivising players to purchase physical toy figures. The toys unlock the characters to play in the game. The translucent PlaySet pieces unlock a new adventure in the game and are often packed in with two related figures. If you have 1.0 or 2.0 version of the game you need to check compatibility as newer figures and PlaySet pieces may not work.

The Starter Packs include everything you need to complete its adventures with two players. The figures and PlaySets offer substantial additional (and optional) content. The starte packs can be purchased as follows:
  • Disney Infinity Starter Pack (Only on Xbox 360, PlayStation 3, Wii): Gives you access to the game and adventures for Monsters University, Pirates of the Caribbean, and The Incredibles.
  • Disney Infinity 2.0 Marvel Superheroes Starter Pack: Gives you access to the game and the Marvel Super Heroes adventures.
  • Disney Infinity 2.0 Disney Toybox Pack: Gives you access to the main game but no large adventures like the other packs. This is focused on getting. you ready to make your own creations.
  • Disney Infinity 3.0: Star Wars Rise Against the Empire Play: Gives you access to the game and The Rise Against the Empire adventure.
  • Disney Infinity 3.0: Star Wars Saga Bundle: Includes the main game plus The Rise Against the Empire, Twilight of the Republic, Rise Against the Empire adventure.
  • Disney Infinity 3.0: Play Without Limits (Digital Purchase on Xbox One): Gets you the digital game but needs you to purchase the Disney Infinity Base seperately (or own it from a previous game). You can then use figrues to unlock the content.
  • Disney Infinity 3.0: Gold Edition (PC Only): Gives you the main game and most of the content unlock (a huge amount). But this doesn't include any upgrades and patches that were applied after release.


We haven't documented accessibility features for this game yet. Our Disney Infinity Accessibility Report details system-wide settings that may help, and suggests similar games with accessibility features. Tweet the developer (@AvalancheSweden) to let them know about our Accessibility Questionnaire.

Diversity and InclusionDiversity and Inclusion

We haven't documented diversity and inclusion information for this game yet.

Taming Gaming Book Written by parents for parents, the database complements the in-depth discussion about video game addiction, violence, spending and online safety in the Taming Gaming book. We are an editorially independent, free resource without adverts that is supported by partnerships.

Subscribe to our free newsletter

Carina Initiatives
Contact Us