Close search results
Video GameThe Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess Review
Play YouTube video

Posted: 2 years ago, last updated 4 months ago.

Author: @GeekDadGamer, Jo Robertson, Ben Kendall and @GrowingUpGamers.


The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess is an adventure game in the Zelda series. As with the other games, you play Link, who must prevent Hyrule from being engulfed by corruption from a parallel dimension. Unlike other Zelda games, you can take the form of a human or a wolf.

Like other games in the series, the action focuses on combat, exploration, and puzzle-solving in the dungeon areas that you discover. The game extended the Wii era's embracing of simpler and more intuitive controls, not only in the inclusion of motion detection but in a single action button used to serve a variety of functions.

The artificial intelligence of enemies in Twilight Princess took a leap forward since The Wind Waker, as they react to defeated companions and to arrows or slingshot pellets that pass by, and can detect Link from a greater distance than was possible in previous games.

The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess was launched on both Gamecube and Wii at the same time, with an HD version on Wii U coming later. The Wii U version offered some enhancements and a harder Hero mode.

There are many games in the Zelda series, each received long and focused development from Nintendo:
  • The Legend of Zelda (1986) on NES
  • The Adventure of Link (1987) on NES
  • A Link to the Past (1991) on Super NES and Gameboy Advance, then ported to Wii, Wii U and Switch (as part of Nintendo Online).
  • Link's Awakening (1993) on Gameboy then updated for Switch
  • Ocarina of Time (1998) on Nintendo 64 then updated for 3D on Nintendo 3DS
  • Link’s Awakening DX (1998) on Gameboy Colour
  • Majora's Mask (2000) on Nintendo 64 then updated to 3D on Nintendo 3DS
  • Oracle of Seasons and Oracle of Ages (2001) on Gameboy Colour
  • Four Swords (2002) on Gamecube
  • The Wind Waker (2002) on Gamecube then updated in HD on Wii U
  • Four Swords Adventures (2004) on Gamecube
  • The Minish Cap (2004) on Gameboy Advance
  • Twilight Princess (2006) on Wii and Gamecube then in HD on Wii U
  • Phantom Hourglass (2007) on Nintendo DS
  • Spirit Tracks (2009) on Nintendo DS
  • Skyward Sword (2011) on Wii
  • A Link Between Worlds (2013) on Nintendo 3DS
  • Tri Force Heroes (2015) on Nintendo 3DS
  • Breath of the Wild (2017) on Switch
  • Breath of the Wild Sequel (TBA) on Switch

DetailsGame Details

Release Date: 19/11/2006, updated in 2016

Platforms: GameCube, Wii and Wii U

Content Rating: PEGI 12

Skill Rating: 9+ year-olds

Players: 1

Genres: Adventure (Action, Fighting, Narrative, Open World, Puzzle, Role-Play and Stealth)

Developer: Nintendo (@Nintendo)




Play Time: This game will take between 45 hours and 60 hours to complete.

Play StylePlay Style

This is a single-player game.

Age RatingsAge Ratings

Content Rating

Rated PEGI 12 for occasional non-realistic violence towards human characters. Use of bladed weapons during combat, successful strikes to the body of a character is denoted by a flash of light and a decrease in the character’s health gauge. There are no blood effects or injuries. Sharp or pointed weapons do not cause any injuries commensurate with such a weapon and is likened to the effects caused by a club-like weapon. When hit, in addition to a flash of light there is an ‘urgh’ sound from the character and on occasions, the character is propelled an exaggerated distance backwards.

Skill Rating

9+ year-olds usually have the required skill to enjoy this game. Still, it's important for parents and guardians to consider the maturity required to process the game content. Younger players need to be able to navigate the 3D world, look for secrets and deal with reaction-based combat. Good navigation and memory are a help, particularly as the game ramps up in layers and complexity.


The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess usually costs £39.99.

The Legend Of Zelda: Twilight Princess HD

Switch Store Wii U £39.99
There are the following additional costs associated with this game:
  • In-Game Purchases: Additional in-game purchases are offered for items that enhance the experience.
The older version of the game on Wii and Gamecube is cheaper, but lacks the HD visuals of the Wii U version.

Twilight Princess HD is compatible with the Wolf Link amiibo, along with the Super Smash Bros. series Zelda amiibo, including Link, Zelda, Ganondorf, Sheik, and Toon Link. These are scanned to unlock items:
  • Wolf Link: Unlocks a new optional dungeon called the Cave of Shadows, which can be accessed anytime from the collection screen.
  • Link or Toon Link: Replenish all of Link's Arrows. The Zelda or Sheik amiibo will restore all Hearts.
  • Ganondorf: Enables Link to take twice as much damage. 
It's important to set up your accounts and devices appropriately. More information is on our Financial Resources page.


We haven't documented accessibility features for this game yet. Our The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess Accessibility Report details system-wide settings that may help, and suggests similar games with accessibility features. Tweet the developer (@Nintendo) to let them know about our Accessibility Questionnaire.

Diversity and InclusionDiversity and Inclusion

We haven't documented diversity and inclusion information for this game yet.

Taming Gaming Book Written by parents for parents, the database complements the in-depth discussion about video game addiction, violence, spending and online safety in the Taming Gaming book. We are an editorially independent, free resource without adverts that is supported by partnerships.

Subscribe to our free newsletter

Carina Initiatives
Contact Us