Close search results
Video GameTom Clancy's Rainbow Six Seige (Series) Review
Play YouTube video

Posted: 2 years ago, last updated 9 weeks ago.

Author: @JonahMonaghan, @GeekDadGamer and Jo Robertson.


Rainbow Six Siege is a 5-v-5 multiplayer tactical shooting game where you either play a terrorist or a counter-terrorist. Your job is either to defend an objective such as a bomb site, biohazard container, or hostages or to stop the terrorist by capturing the objective.

Each round has two phases: preparation and execution. In the preparation phase, terrorists will fortify their objective with barriers and equipment while counter-terrorists will try to gather intel on the terrorist's operation using camera drones. In the execution phase the counter-terrorists aim to breach the terrorist operation and either eliminate all of the threats or secure the objective, while the terrorists will try to defend their objective or eliminate all of the counter-terrorists.

Each side has different goals, resources and a variety of characters. Each character is either an "Attacker" or "Defender" that can only be used in that role. They each have different abilities that change how you can approach situations.

The standard game-mode in Rainbow Six Siege is first team to three points wins the game. Teams will switch between attacking and defending every two rounds, meaning that in each game both teams will get to experience both sides of gameplay in each game.

DetailsGame Details

Release Date: 01/12/2015

Price: 71% off

Platforms: PC, PS4, PS5, Stadia, Xbox One and Xbox Series X|S

Content Rating: PEGI 18

Players: 1 (10 online)

Genres: Action, Shooting (Communication, Stealth and Traversal)

Accessibility: 20 features

Developer: Rainbow 6 Game (@Rainbow6Game)




Play Time: It takes between 2 minutes and 5 minutes to play a round of this game. Play doesn't stop between rounds, so one session of first-to-three-wins can take between 10 to 30 minutes, including loading times.

Play StylePlay Style

You can play this by yourself or as a 10-player online game.

You can play this game in the following styles:

Age RatingsAge Ratings

Content Rating

Rated PEGI 18+ for realistic violence and language. The game features sustained and realistic violence against human characters, usually armed opponents. However – though this is not the encouraged or intended aim – during the hostage rescue missions, players can shoot NPCs who are restrained and silenced with tape. The hostages make flinching and writhing movements, while moaning in pain. A blood effect also features, which stains the floor beneath them. If the player continues to shoot the hostage, they will fall still and die. The game also features use of the word ‘*!@?*’ and derivatives of it.
Users Interact: The game enables players to interact and communicate with each other, so may expose players to language usually associated with older rated games.

Account Rating

  • You need be 18-years-old to to subscribe to Xbox Live Gold for online play, but can then configure family accounts for younger players to play online with Xbox One or Xbox Series X|S.
  • You need be 18-years-old to subscribe to PlayStation Plus for online play, but can create sub-accounts for younger players of 7-years or older to play online with PlayStation 4 or PlayStation 5.


Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Seige usually costs £44.99. 

Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Seige

There are the following additional costs associated with this game:
  • In-Game Loot Boxes: Additional in-game purchases are offered for items that enhance the experience. These include in-game purchases of random items (known as 'loot boxes') that offer a chance of getting rare/higher-value items although common/lower-value items are more frequent.
  • You need a subscription to play online:
    • You need to purchase a PlayStation Plus subscription to play online with PlayStation 4 or PlayStation 5.
    • You need to purchase a Xbox Live Gold subscription to play online with Xbox One or Xbox Series X|S.
The game has a variety of in-game purchases that can be used to either unlock new characters, purchase cosmetic items, or buy loot-boxes (referred to as packs).

Operators can be unlocked in three ways:
  • Earning in-game currency
  • Paying individually for certain operators using real-world money
  • Buying operators as a set using real-world money

The game has a lot of operators which make it tempting for players to spend real-world money however it should be noted that any character in the game can be unlocked using earned in-game currency. 
It's important to set up your accounts and devices appropriately. More information is on our Financial Resources page.

Taming Gaming Book Written by parents for parents, the database complements the in-depth discussion about video game addiction, violence, spending and online safety in the Taming Gaming book. We are an editorially independent, free resource without adverts that is supported by partnerships.

Subscribe to our free newsletter

Carina Initiatives
Contact Us