Close search results

Valorant Review

Posted: 20 months ago, last updated 4 weeks ago.

Author: @GeekDadGamer and Jo Robertson.


Valorant is a team-based online shooting game, where two teams of five compete under the role of agents with unique abilities. It's designed to be competitive and requires considerable skill and practice to win matches. Between rounds players spend money in the virtual economy system to purchase utilities and weapons.

There are currently 14 agents to choose from: Brimstone, Phoenix, Sage, Sova, Viper, Cypher, Reyna, Killjoy, Breach, Omen, Jett, Raze, Skye and Yoru. Once chosen you join the attacking or defending team. You must use your Agent's unique abilities to defeat the other team and achieve your objectives. You start with a "classic" pistol and one ability. To this you can add an assortment of weapons: submachine guns, shotguns, machine guns, assault rifles and sniper rifles.

There are different play modes available:
  • Unrated - Best of 25 rounds. The attacking team has to get a bomb on one of multiple specified locations and then protect it for 45 second so it detonates.
  • Spike Rush - Best of 7 rounds. All players on the attacking team carry a bomb, but only one can be activated per round.
  • Competitive - Require 10 unrated match wins to enter.
  • Deathmatch - 14 players have 10 minutes to kill 40 opponents.

Currently confirmed for PC, but the style of PEGI/ESRB rating suggest this will be Xbox One and PS4 as well.

DetailsGame Details

Content Rating: PEGI 16

Skill Rating: 14+ year-olds

Release Date: 02/06/2020

Platforms: PC, PS4 and Xbox One

Genres: Action and Shooting

Accessibility: 4 features

Developer: Riot Games (@RiotGames)


Players: You can play this with 10 players online.


Additional in-game purchases are offered for items that enhance the experience. This includes a regular subscription fee (known as a 'battle/season pass') to unlock access to reward items and other aspects of the game. In-game purchases for cosmetic outfits and skins for weapons. These are purchased with Radiante Points that can be obtained with real money in the game. A Battle Pass offers access to more items and Radiante Points and can evolve (customise like in Rocket League) skins and other content types.

Age RatingsAge Ratings

Content Rating

Rated PEGI 16 because it features strong violence and sustained depictions of violence towards human characters. Combat violence is realistic as well as sustained, the difference between the two being the rapidity of a character’s death, which is allied to the weapon being used. Blood effects are seen whenever a character shot and headshots do not cause gross violence. Although team members and enemy characters remain in view after being killed, post-mortem mutilation is not possible.

The VSC expand on details about in-game purchases: This game offers players the opportunity to purchase in-game items outside of the main game. Players can unlock cosmetic content such as weapon skins (ranging from simple re-colours to alternate models), Gun Buddies (small keychains that dangle off the player’s gun), or Player Cards (profile images). While a handful of these cosmetic items are unlockable through gameplay, many are only available to purchase in the cash store or made available through “Contracts”. A Contract is a content pass that players can purchase with real money that allows players to unlock content such as skins, character cards, and Gun Buddies as they play the game. Parents or carers may want to be aware of these options. Parents, carers or other responsible adults should check to see what is being offered before making any purchase on behalf of a child. It should be noted that the game can still be played without the need to purchase such items.
Users Interact: The game enables players to interact and communicate with each other, so may expose players to language usually associated with older rated games.

In addition to the rating, it's good to note that (on PC, unconfirmed for PS4 and Xbox) you can turn off blood, mature content and corpses of dead characters in the game.

Skill Rating

14+ year-olds usually have the required skill to enjoy this game. Still, it's important for parents and guardians to consider the maturity required to process the game content.


This game supports accessibility in the following ways (as it's in beta this will likely improve):
  • Difficulty: Being an online competitive game means this doesn't have difficulty settings, although the game will match you with similar players.
  • Reading: There is a considerable amount of reading of stats and weapons details and the text is not adjustable. No subtitles for voice-overs. No text to speech or speech to text.
  • Controls: Remap keys, buttons and mouse mappings. Adjust sensitivity or movement and scope zoom. You can toggle crouch rather than hold button. You can't toggle to run though.
  • Image calibration: Adjust rotation, size and zoom of the minimap. Visual effects for damage direction and bullet direction indicators to match audio cues. Enemy colour can be changed. Colour and size and style of crosshair target customisable.
  • Audio calibration: Adjust the volume of effects, voice and music. Audio indications of other players, visual cues and direction of activity. Can select to have gameplay, agent, tactical and general announcement voice over to further narrate what's happening visually.
  • Communication: Ping system lets you pick messages for other teammates that are then displayed and narrated. You can also set other default messages to buttons rather than speaking.

Our Valorant Accessibility Report documents 4 accessibility features:

Taming Gaming Book Written by parents for parents, the database complements the in-depth discussion about video game addiction, violence, spending and online safety in the Taming Gaming book. We are an editorially independent, free resource without adverts that is supported by partnerships.

Subscribe to our free newsletter

Carina Initiatives
Contact Us