Destiny (Series) Review

Game image Destiny
Play YouTube video
Buy Destiny now on Amzon

Posted: 6 months ago, last updated 5 months ago.

Author: Andy Robertson.


Destiny is a shooting game set in space. You have to play online as it focuses on grand sci-fi adventures with other players. From the same developer, it takes Halo towards a bigger online role play experience.

It's set in a science-fiction world shared with other players. You play the role of a Guardian of Earth's last safe city, tasked with reviving a celestial being called the Traveler. Along the way you develop your character and earn equipment and costumes by completing missions. These have you either working with other players to take on large enemies or battling other players. These move the narrative forwards as well as your abilities.


Rating: PEGI 16+, ESRB TEEN

Release Date: 09/09/2014

Platforms: PC, PlayStation 4 and Xbox One.

Genres: Action, Adventure, Fighting, Narrative, Open World, Role-Playing and Shooting.



Duration: This game will take between 12 hours and 19 hours to complete. In addition to this time on the main story elements, the expansions and other activities can make this a game that takes 100's of hours. Some players have reported putting in over 500 hours to complete everything.
Players: You can play with 2 players in the same room and up to 16 players online. In addition to normal story missions that are taken up with up to 16 other players, there are short three-player battles and six-player raids. There are also traditional deathmatch games where you battle to be the last player standing.

Cross-Play: You can't play with people on a different system to the one you are on. But the Cross-Save feature enables you to move from PlayStation to Xbox and retain your progress.


This game is free to start playing, but requires payment to continue at some point. Additional in-game purchases are offered for items that enhance the experience. This includes a regular subscription fee (known as a 'battle/season pass') to unlock access to reward items and other aspects of the game.

The following content is available for Destiny via in-game purchase and season pass:
  • Destiny: The Dark Below (2014) Expansion I
  • Destiny: House of Wolves (2015) Expansion II
  • Destiny: The Taken King (2015) new content also includes Expansion I and Expansion II.
  • Destiny: Rise of Iron (2015)
  • Destiny 2: Curse of Osiris (2017) post-release paid content
  • Destiny 2: Warmind (2018) Expansion
  • Destiny 2: Forsaken (2018) Expansion
  • Destiny 2: Shadowkeep (2019) Expansion
  • Destiny 2: Season of the Forge (2018) via Annual Pass
  • Destiny 2: Season of the Drifter (2018) via Annual Pass
  • Destiny 2: Season of Opulence (2019) via Annual Pass
  • Destiny 2: Season of the Worthy (2020) via Annual Pass
Much of this content is bundled in the following purchases of the main game:
  • Destiny: The Collection includes all the content from the first game.
  • Destiny 2: Upgrade Edition includes Forsaken and Shadowkeep as well as the current season pass.
  • Destiny: New Light provides a free-to-play option that grants access to a huge amount of content but doesn't include the latest adventures.
You will need Xbox Live Gold (must be 18 to create, then configure family accounts for younger players) to play online with Xbox One. You will need PlayStation Plus (must be 18 to create, then create sub-accounts for younger players who need be set as 13 or older) to play online with PlayStation 4.

Age RatingsAge Ratings

Rated PEGI 16 for depictions of realistic looking violence towards human-like characters, and sustained depictions of death/injury to humans. The majority of the violence consists of humans attacking various alien species, however, it is possible to attack other human characters, specifically during multiplayer matches where human players attack one another either individually or in teams. Characters react to the violence in a realistic manner, they make pained noises when injured, and when they have been defeated their bodies remain on the floor for a short time before they respawn.

This game has been rated ESRB TEEN.

Users Interact: The game enables players to interact and communicate with each other, so may expose players to language usually associated with older rated games.


Accessibility for this game is as follows:
System Settings

Windows has extensive accessibility features. Some, like colour correction, work with games. Lots of accessibility software can be used with PC games, from voice recognition to input device emulators. PlayStation 4 has a range of accessibility settings. Some are system only, some work in games (invert colours and button mapping). Xbox One has a system features, the excellent co-pilot share controls mode and adaptive controller support for all games... read more about system accessibility settings.


Image 242 Image 243 Thank you for using our resource, supported by AskAboutGames, ParentZone and PlayAbility Initiative. We are editorially independent, written by parents for parents, but welcome sponsorship, partnership and suggestions. Email our editor for details on these opportunities.

The information on this database is designed to support and complement the in-depth discussion and advice about video game "addiction", violence, spending and online safety in the Taming Gaming book. If you have any concerns or questions in these areas, email our editor who is quick to respond or can arrange for a one-to-one conversation.

YouTube | Facebook | Twitter | Discord | Contact | About