The Elder Scrolls (Series) Review

Game image The Elder Scrolls
Play YouTube video
Buy The Elder Scrolls now on Amzon

Posted: 6 months ago.

Author: Andy Robertson.


The Elder Scrolls is a series of action role-playing games that take you to detailed open worlds with free-form gameplay. The series has sold more than 58 million copies.

Each game takes place in Tamriel, during a pre-medieval period that includes a Roman-like Empire, Tolkein style monsters, magic and limited technology. You play a hero that rises to defeat a malevolent being or an antagonistic army.

Since debuting with Arena in 1994, the series has produced a total of five main games
  • The Elder Scrolls: Arena (1994)
  • The Elder Scrolls II: Daggerfall (1996) with a deeper plot and character classes.
  • The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind (2002) with a more modular approach to expansion on PC and Xbox
  • The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion (2006) with a tighter storyline and improved AI on PC and Xbox 360
  • The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim (2011) on PC, Xbox 360, Xbox One, PlayStation 3 and PlayStation 4
  • The Elder Scrolls Online (2012) on PC, Mac, Xbox One and PlayStation 4
In The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim you are free to roam the wilderness, dungeons, caves, cities, towns, fortresses, and villages on foot or by horse. There is a main quest although you can decide how closely you stick to it. The world is populated by wildlife, creatures and characters you can interact with. The characters can provide or deny quests and items depending on how you treat them.

As you go you develop your character with combat, magic, and stealth. When you have enough skills you level up and choose a new improvement. Along with finding items and weapons, this enabled you to enhance your fighting ability. It's a game that players enjoy as much for the adventures that happen through open play as the main story.


Rating: PEGI 18+, ESRB MATURE 17+

Release Date: 11/11/2011, updated in 2017

Platforms: PC, PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, Xbox 360 and Xbox One.

Genres: Action, Adventure, Fighting, Narrative, Open World, Role-Playing, Shooting and Simulation.



View our choice of games like The Elder Scrolls. This game is good if you want to:


Duration: This game will take between 30 hours and 100 hours to complete. Although you can complete the main story quests in these games quite quickly, exploring the world will absorb tens of hours.
Players: This is a single player game.


Additional in-game purchases are offered for items that enhance the experience. This includes a regular subscription fee (known as a 'battle/season pass') to unlock access to reward items and other aspects of the game.

These games have additional content and the option to buy Season Pass access. The Elder Scrolls: Skyrim had three expansions Dawnguard, Hearthfire, and Dragonborn. These are included in The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim – Legendary Edition.

On Switch Skyrim unlocks content via purchasing physical amiibo figures separately.

Age RatingsAge Ratings

Rated PEGI 18 due to depictions of gross violence towards human characters, depictions of apparently motiveless killing to multiple innocents, and depictions of violence towards the vulnerable and defenceless. This game features frequent depictions of gross violence towards human-like characters. As the player you are able to decapitate and dismember humans, all these attacks are paired with strong blood/gore. The same gross violence can be inflicted onto multiple innocent civilians, with the exception of children who take no damage from attacks. In some quests there are depictions of violence to the vulnerable and innocent, for example, there is a quest where the player is told to kill one of three humans, one of them is a criminal and the others two are innocent, all three are tied up with bags on their head, as the player you have the ability to kill all three regardless of their innocence.

This game has been rated ESRB MATURE 17+.


Accessibility for this game is as follows:
System Settings

Windows has extensive accessibility features. Some, like colour correction, work with games. Lots of accessibility software can be used with PC games, from voice recognition to input device emulators. PlayStation 4 has a range of accessibility settings. Some are system only, some work in games (invert colours and button mapping). Xbox One has a system features, the excellent co-pilot share controls mode and adaptive controller support for all games... read more about system accessibility settings.


Image 242 Image 243 Thank you for using our resource, supported by AskAboutGames, ParentZone and PlayAbility Initiative. We are editorially independent, written by parents for parents, but welcome sponsorship, partnership and suggestions. Email our editor for details on these opportunities.

The information on this database is designed to support and complement the in-depth discussion and advice about video game "addiction", violence, spending and online safety in the Taming Gaming book. If you have any concerns or questions in these areas, email our editor who is quick to respond or can arrange for a one-to-one conversation.

YouTube | Facebook | Twitter | Discord | Contact | About