Image 300

Sale: Taming Gaming Book 21% Discount

Worried about your children's video games? Get the book that inspired the database. This guide will grant you the confidence to understand and anchor video games as a healthy part of family life. Discover practical advice and insights from the latest research and guidance from psychologists, industry experts, educational bodies and children's charities.

Tomb Raider (Series) Review

Game image Tomb Raider
Play YouTube video

Posted: 16 months ago, last updated 10 weeks ago.

Author: @GeekDadGamer and Jo Robertson.


Tomb Raider is a longstanding series that has been rebooted in recent years. This means it not only gets a fresh coat of paint like a re-release but is built from the ground up. All the games feature Lara Croft as the titular hero. She shoots, runs, jumps and fights her way to tombs that offer a calmer puzzle challenge.

This combination of exploration, puzzles and combat (along with an attractive powerful female protagonist) is what the game was originally known for. Although this continues into modern games, Lara is now a more vulnerable and believable person in her own right. She is motivated not only by adrenaline but also empathy with other characters and a conflicted relationship with her father.

The most modern games add in huge open worlds to explore and survive in. This ups the need to collect items and upgrade Lara as you do in a role-playing game. The puzzle-solving persists here too, both in main tomb complexes and smaller side-tomb quests although there is a focus on archaeological importance rather than hoarding valuable artefacts.

The original series:
  • Tomb Raider (1996) available on PC, PlayStation, Mac, iOS, Android
  • Tomb Raider II (1997) available on PC, PlayStation, Mac, iOS, Android
  • Tomb Raider III (1998) available on PC, PlayStation, Mac
  • The Last Revelation (1999) available on PC, PlayStation, Mac
  • Chronicles (2000) available on PC, PlayStation, Mac
  • The Angel of Darkness (2003) available on PC, PlayStation, Mac

The second series added more cinematic production and quick-time events where you have to press the right buttons quick enough to progress the filmic action sequences:
  • Legend (2006) available on PC, PlayStation 2, PlayStation 3, PlayStation Portable, GameCube, Xbox, Xbox 360
  • Anniversary (2006) available on PC, PlayStation 2, PlayStation Portable, Xbox 360, Wii, Mac, PlayStation 3
  • Underworld (2008) Mac, PC, PlayStation 3, PlayStation 2, Wii, Xbox 360

The third series brought Lara to an open world and re-imagined her character and visual style for more modern audiences:
  • Tomb Raider (2013) available on PC, Mac, PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, Xbox 360, Xbox One
  • Rise of the Tomb Raider (2015) available on PC, Mac, PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, Xbox 360, Xbox One
  • Shadow of the Tomb Raider (2019) available on PC, Mac, PlayStation 4, Xbox One

There are also spin-off portable games:
  • Tomb Raider on Gameboy Colour
  • Curse of the Sword on Gameboy Colour
  • The Prophecy on Gameboy Advance
  • Relic Run (2015) available on iOS and Android
  • Go (2016) available on iOS, Android, PC, PlayStation 4, PlayStation Vita,Mac

There are smaller action spin-off games:
  • Guardian of Light (2010) available on Android, iOS, PC, PlayStation 3, Xbox 360
  • Temple of Osiris (2014) available on PC, PlayStation 4, Xbox One

DetailsGame Details


Release Date: 09/11/2015, updated in 2019

Platforms: GameCube, Mac, Nintendo Wii, PC, PlayStation 2, PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, PlayStation Portable, Xbox 360 and Xbox One

Genres: Action, Adventure, Fighting, Narrative, Open World, Role-Playing and Shooting

Developer: @Ubisoft


View our choice of games like Tomb Raider. This game is good if you want to:


Duration: This game will take between 12 hours and 22 hours to complete.
Players: This is a single player game. It will take around 12 hours to get through Tomb Raider (2013) on Xbox One or PlayStation 4. But to fully explore the open world can take 40 or 50 hours.


Additional in-game purchases are offered for items that enhance the experience. Shadow of the Tomb Raider offers in-game purchases for seven challenge tombs, weapons, outfits, and skills. You can get these together via the Shadow of the Tomb Raider Definitive Edition.

Age RatingsAge Ratings

This game has been rated ESRB MATURE 17+.


Tomb Raider (2013) is rated PEGI 18 with frequent moderate violence and occasional strong bad language. The examiners report expands this rating with the following: The game contains a scene where Lara has her hands tied and is touched in a potentially sexual manner by her captor. However, this only goes as far as him running his hand down the side of her body before she escapes. There are various death scenes in which Lara comes to gruesome ends. In one example, she falls into a pit of spikes. A spike forces its way through her temple and out the other side of her head. There is a blood splatter and she begins to slide down the spike, as the screen fades to black. The game also features frequent use of the word ‘*!@?*’.


Accessibility for this game is as follows:


How you can adjust the challenge of play, and assistance the game offers when you fail or get stuck.

View Game Map: View a map of the game world during play, with points of interest and missions highlighted throughout entire game.

System Settings

The Wii has a few helpful settings, like disable rumble, but you have to use gesture controls for most games and the system menu. Windows has extensive accessibility features. Some, like colour correction, work with games. Lots of accessibility software can be used with PC games, from voice recognition to input device emulators. PlayStation 4 has a range of accessibility settings. Some are system only, some work in games (invert colours and button mapping). Xbox One has a system features, the excellent co-pilot share controls mode and adaptive controller support for all games... read more about system accessibility settings.

Supported by PlayabilityInitiative and accessibility contributors: @GeekDadGamer

Content devider

Games Like Tomb Raider

Our experts have hand-picked the following similar games for you. These offer a similar way to play to Tomb Raider or are games with a similar theme or topic. These are good alternative games to Tomb Raider, or are a younger rated alternative for players not ready for PEGI 18+ or ESRB MATURE 17+ games.

Content devider

Image 242 Image 243 Thank you for using our resource, supported by AskAboutGames, ParentZone and PlayAbility Initiative. We are editorially independent, written by parents for parents, but welcome sponsorship, partnership and suggestions. Email our editor for details on these opportunities.

The information on this database is designed to support and complement the in-depth discussion and advice about video game "addiction", violence, spending and online safety in the Taming Gaming book. If you have any concerns or questions in these areas, email our editor who is quick to respond or can arrange for a one-to-one conversation.

YouTube | Facebook | Twitter | Discord | Contact | About